Welcome to the Department of Pharmacology in the UC Davis School of Medicine. The Department comprises a dynamic group of faculty, researchers and students from diverse backgrounds undertaking investigations to reveal biological mechanisms that will ultimately lead to discovery of novel understanding of physiological and pathological mechanisms, identification of potential therapeutic targets and development of new strategies for a variety of human diseases.

The Department is led by Chair Donald Bers, Ph.D. and the Executive Advisory Group that includes Johannes W. Hell, Ph.D. (Vice-Chair for Academic Development), Crystal M. Ripplinger, Ph.D., (Vice-Chair for Research and Administration) and Heike Wulff, Ph.D. (Vice-Chair for Education). The Pharmacology Department is part of the basic biomedical sciences in the School of Medicine. The Department and its Faculty have strong connections with multiple UC Davis Graduate Groups, other Departments (in multiple colleges) and Research Centers constituting a powerful interactive high-quality research team. The faculty are also committed to excellence in teaching and service (both at UC Davis and beyond). UC Davis Pharmacology is one of the nation's top ranked pharmacology departments in federal research funding and hosts a diverse group of postdoctoral trainees and graduate students from different Graduate Groups.

Two of the strongest research areas within the Department are Cardiovascular and Neuroscience at multiple levels, and in a highly collaborative environment of considerable international reputation.  Along with other research areas, our work is unified by a common goal - to understand mechanistically the critical building blocks of biological systems from molecules to cells and organ systems, in health and disease, and to identify components that can be modified through pharmacology or other therapeutic strategies to cure disease. Please visit our Research Overview page and Faculty Research pages for details of ongoing work in the individual Departmental laboratories.

Spotlight on Our Pharmacology Team

Dr. Vikrant Singh's publication of the biosensor journals and recent acknowledgment by the Hindu Business Line

biosensor for malaria Congratulations to Dr. Vikrant Singh, Assistant Project Scientist, for the publication of his biosensor journals and recent acknowledgment by the Hindu Business Line! His American Chemical Society publication which discusses a biosensor for malaria, was highlighted in one of the most popular and important newspapers in India, The Hindu Business Line.

Professor Wulff has accepted the Chief Field Editor position for the Frontiers in Pharmacology Journal

Heike Wulff, Ph.D. Professor Wulff has accepted the Chief Field Editor position for the Frontiers in Pharmacology Journal, the most-cited open access journal in the field. We congratulate and thank Professor Wulff for her service! Read official journal announcement in the Frontiers Blog.

Dr. Navedo named Co-Chair of the organizing committee for the 2020 International Symposium on Resistance Arteries

Navedo-ISRA We are proud to announce that at the recently concluded 2017 International Symposium on Resistance Arteries (ISRA) in Manchester, United Kingdom, Dr. Manuel F. Navedo was selected by his peers as the next co-organizer of the 2020 ISRA meeting. During this meeting, Dr. Navedo delivered a well-received talk on "Purinergic signaling in diabetic vascular complications", and Dr. Madeline Nieves-Cintrón received a Best Poster Presentation Award for her work on "Ion channels in vascular smooth muscle from patients with diabetes".

Chair forms Executive Advisory Group (EAG) to help guide department

Executive Advisory Group The Department of Pharmacology EAG was formed to advise the Chair on departmental strategic direction, administration and prioritizing initiatives, and was formalized at a faculty meeting in May. Starting July 1, 2017 (for 3-yr terms). The EAG will meet quarterly (or as needs arise) and is comprised of:

Pharmacology Faculty at FASEB Ion Channel Meeting

FASEB Logo Congratulations to the Pharmacology Department Faculty, Drs. Heike WulffJohannes W. Hell and Manuel F. Navedo on their well-received invited presentations at the 2017 Federation of American Societies For Experimental Biology (FASEB) Meeting on Ion Channel Regulation. Representation of our faculty was among the largest for a single Department, we are proud of the strength and influence of our faculty in this field!