Skip to main content
Bioethics Program

Bioethics Program

Our team

Ben A. Rich, J.D., Ph.D.
Professor and School of Medicine
Alumni Association Endowed Chair of Bioethics

Mark Yarborough, Ph.D.
Dean's Professor of Bioethics
Program in Bioethics

Associate Faculty

Scott Christensen, M.D.
Clinical Professor, Hematology and Oncology
Medical Director, UC Davis Cancer Care Network
Medical Director, Inpatient Oncology Unit

Calvin Hirsch, M.D.
Professor, Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine

Lisa Ikemoto, J.D.
Professor of Law

John MacMillan, M.D.
Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, Hospice and Palliative Medicine\

Jay Milstein, M.D.
Professor, Chief of Pediatric Neonatology

Roberta S. Loewy, Ph.D.
Associate Clinical Professor of Bioethics,
Volunteer Clinical Faculty

Debora Paterniti, Ph.D.
Associate Adjunct Professor of Internal Medicine
and Sociology

External Advisory Board

Beth Abad
UC Davis Alumni and Development Officer

Jamie Cobb, M.D.
Sports Medicine Department of Orthopedics
Kaiser Permanente Medical Center, Sacramento

Honorable Rodney Davis
Associate Justice California Court of Appeal (Retired) 
3rd Appellate District

David F. Dozier, Jr., M.D.
Sutter Neuroscience Medical Group, (Retired) 

Charity Kenyon, J.D.
Attorney at Law, Kenyon Yeates Law Firm

Honorable Fred K. Morrison
Associate Justice, Court of Appeal, (Retired)
3rd Appellate District

Shirley Plant
Past Chair, UC Davis Health System Leadership Council

Timothy Takagi, M.D.
Associate Director, Family Practice Residency Program
Mercy General and Methodist Hospitals