September 15, 2016

Professor Emeritus Dr. Gerald Kost is the recipient of UC Davis’ Edward Dickson’s Emeriti Professorship for 2016-17 to support his project “Preparedness for Highly Infectious Threats (Ebola Virus Disease, MERS-CoV, Others): Environmental Robustness of Point-of-Care WBCs and Differential Counts Used in Early Detection.”

Associate Professor Dr. Verónica Martínez-Cerdeño received a $1.9M competitive renewal for her project “Chandellier interneurons and the excitation/inhibition balance in the human prefrontal cortex in autism” from the National Institute of Mental Health.

Residents Dr. Saba Ali and Dr. Nima Amini presented posters at the American Society of Clinical Pathology’s annual meeting in Las Vegas, September 14-16, 2016.  Dr. Ali’s poster was "Atypical Marginal Zone Hyperplasia (MZH) Is. a Mimic for Marginal Zone Lymphoma (MZL) in Pediatric Patients."  Dr. Amini’s poster was "Mast Cell Rich Leiomyoma as a Mimic of Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumor."

On August 31-September 1, Vice Chair of Research Dr. Yvonne Wan was an invited participant at a workshop at the National Cancer Institute on “Modulation of Anti-tumor Immune Responses by Diet- and Microbiome-derived Metabolites”.

September 1, 2016
On July 10, 2016, residency and fellowship alumnus Dr. Jose Galvez was appointed Chief of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical Center’s Biomedical Translational Research Information System, a resource supporting clinical research studies across the NIH’s Intramural Research Program and interfacing with extramural investigators. As part of this position, Dr. Galvez has a dual appointment with the National Library of Medicine.

August 17, 2016

Professor Dr. Jeffrey Gregg shared "Laboratory Management Experiences at UC Davis Medical Center and UC Health” at the 2016 International Hospital CEO Forum hosted by Shanghai No.6 People’s Hospital Medical Group, one of the leading medical groups in China.  Over 250 international experts, hospital directors and managers attend yearly to promote innovation, efficiency, and increase patients’ satisfaction.

August 8, 2016

Professor Dr. Richard Levenson has received a “STAIR” (Science Translation and Innovative Research) award two years in a row from the UC Davis Venture Catalyst program.  One of four awards for 2016-17, Dr. Levenson and colleagues have created a new method utilizing a novel camera sensor for spectral imaging that drastically reduces the amount of data needed for analysis.

Associate professor Dr. Hooman Rashidi has been chosen by the American Board of Pathology to serve as an item writer and reviewer for their Maintenance of Certification (MOC) CertLink Assessment pilot.  Representing the next generation of MOC Assessment, this pilot is being developed as an option in lieu of the MOC Part III exam.

August 5, 2016
Assistant professor Dr. Nam Tran, Point-of-Care supervisor Nancy Lambuth and post-doc Fabian Lara presented their poster “Clinical Significance of Accurate Total Hemoglobin Measurements” at the annual meeting of the American Association of Clinical Chemistry on August 1 in Philadelphia.

Professor Dr. Regina Gandour-Edwards is among the first 14 pathologists chosen to provide telepathology consultations to Rwanda as part of the American Society of Clinical Pathology’s new Partners for Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment program in collaboration with the Clinton Foundation.

July 22, 2016
Congrats to our very own Dr. Peter Barry and his colleague Dr. Alice Tarantal at the California National Primate Center received an R21 grant entitled "Leveraging Established Fetal Primate Models to Expedite ZIKV Investigations", funded by the Office of Research Infrastructure Programs of NIH.  The grant was in response to an RFA entitled "Rapid Assessment of ZIKV Complications" and  was based on the rhesus macaque model of intrauterine human cytomegalovirus pioneered by Drs. Barry and Tarantal.

July 18, 2016
The Association of Pathology Chairs’ annual meeting featured several presentations by UC Davis faculty on July 12-15, 2016.  Dr. Yvonne Wan shared “GI Specimen Biobanking: Opportunities for Best-Practices and Microbiota-related Research” and Dr. Richard Levenson presented “What’s Old and New in Optical Microscopy.”  Dr. Bennet Omalu gave the closing address “Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy: A Journey from Pathology Discovery to Advocacy and Beyond.”

Faculty members Dr. Yvonne Wan and Dr. Dorina Gui participated in the first Pathology Leadership Academy sponsored by the Association of Pathology Chairs on July 11-12, 2016 in San Diego, CA.  Chair Dr. Lydia Howell was co-director of the course.

June 28, 2016
Vice Chair of Research Dr. Yvonne Wan was honored with the Outstanding Alumni Award in recognition of her academic achievements at the Taipei Medical University’s 56th anniversary celebration.

June 20, 2016
Vice Chair of Research Dr. Yvonne Wan was an invited participant at a 2-day workshop organized by the National Cancer Institute’s Office of Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) on “State of the Science of CAM Cancer Therapeutics.”  She will participate in writing a white paper addressing current progress and status of CAM cancer therapeutic research, scientific gaps and opportunities, and solutions worth exploring for future progress.

On June 15, 2016, faculty members Dr. Sarah Barnhard and Dr. Chris Polage served as panelists at the Dean’s Strategic Plan retreat to provide the perspective of early- and mid-career faculty.  Chair Dr. Lydia Howell co-moderated the session.

Ten outstanding college students joined the department as the 2016 Edmondson Summer Research Interns. These talented and diverse students represent colleges in Florida, Michigan, North Carolina Ohio, Oklahoma, as well as California.

Assistant professor Dr. Nam Tran received a 2015 Outstanding Speaker Award for 2015 from the American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC) recognizing his high rankings as a speaker during a 2015 continuing education activity accredited by AACC.

Xenia Ivanova, an undergrad biomedical engineering major mentored by pathology faculty members Dr. Nam Tran and Dr. Jeff Gregg, is the recipient of a UCD Provost Undergraduate Fellowship to study cytochrome P450 polymorphisms in opioid therapy.

June 6, 2016
Professor Emeritus Dr. Gerald Kost received an Outstanding Speaker Award from the American Association of Clinical Chemistry for his outstanding contributions to continuing education.

Chair Dr. Lydia Howell served as a panelist at the NIH Conference on Evidence-Based Innovations to Support Women in Biomedical Research Careers on June 6, 2016 in Bethesda, Maryland.

Chair Dr. Lydia Howell was the keynote speaker for residency graduation at Temple University Hospital on June 2, 2016.  She spoke on “Growing Our Own in Academic Pathology: Faculty Development, Leadership, and Diversity.”

May 24, 2016
Big congrats to our very own Assistant Professor Dr. Verónica Martínez-Cerdeño -- she has been selected as a Scholar in the Center for Advancing Multi-cultural Perspectives in Science (CAMPOS)! This award includes support from the Provost for five years – we’re proud and delighted for Dr. Martínez-Cerdeño!!

May 17, 2016
Distinguished Professor Dr. Ralph Green is a visiting professor for the month of May at Denmark's Aarhus University.  His visit includes lectures on ”The NIH Grant Funding System: Some facts with special emphasis on Foreign Applicants” and “Responsible conduct of research: Prevention is better than cure”.

More News »