NEWS | October 23, 2018

Holiday emancipation basket collection gears up for another successful season

It is time to start preparing for the annual Holiday/Emancipation basket collection for the Sacramento County Independent Living Program (ILP), an organization which helps young adults transition from dependence on institutional support to independent living.

UC Davis Health employees have supported the program since 2006, donating over 1,300 emancipation baskets full of basic items for the home in addition to cash-gift cards. Last year alone, UC Davis employees collected 125 baskets. Organizers hope to make this year's donation an even greater success.

How to participate

As a group(s), or an individual, follow the instructions on Holiday Basket Activity Details, collect the basic supplies provided on the shopping list, and download and write a note on the card that will be enclosed with your basket. Package the items and plan to drop off the basket on December 4 at the Main Hospital or Lawrence Ellison Ambulatory Building (ACC). Drop off directions will be provided the week of November 26.

A few important guidelines: As the county has limited storage, the "baskets" need to be stacked, so please use the 27-gallon bin with a fitted lid shown below, which can be found at Lowes, Home Depot or Costco.

It is best to buy non-breakable glassware and lighter-weight dishes such as Corelle Livingware. Shampoo, conditioner and lotion should be 16 oz. containers. The baskets should be gender neutral for easy distribution by the ILP. Remember: Pillow goes in first.

Cash donations are due by November 14 to Christine Williams or to one of the Holiday Elves listed below.  After November 14, only gift cards will be accepted.

All of the baskets from UC Davis Health will be delivered to the Sacramento ILP Center on Tuesday, Dec. 4. 

Questions? Contact one of the Holiday Elves listed below:  

Hospital: Angie Marin – 3-3713 ahmarin@ucdavis.edu

Christine Williams – 4-7048 chrwilliams@ucdavis.edu

storage container

Heather Stokes – 4-2734 hstokes@ucdavis.edu

Clinic: Kerri Stuart – (916) 471-8432 kstuart@ucdavis.edu

Syerra Logan – 4-1488 sylogan@ucdavis.edu

Iris Rumick – (916) 683-3930 irrumick@ucdavis.edu

Anna Enriquez – 4-6421 arenriquez@ucdavis.edu

Please forward this to your staff members and colleagues who may be interested in donating/participating.