Quantcast
Skip to main content
The Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing

The Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing

Current Ph.D. students

Meet the current Nursing Science and Health-Care Leadership Doctor of Philosophy students.

Class of 2014

Perry Gee

Perry Gee, R.N., M.S.N.

Contact: Perry.Gee@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Electronic Personal Health Records: Perceptions of the Chronically Ill
Current work: Dean, School of Continuing Studies, Simpson University, Redding, CA

Deborah Greenwood

Deborah Greenwood, R.N., M.Ed.

Contact: Deborah.Greenwood@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Evaluation of a Telehealth Remote Monitoring Intervention Combining Structured Self-Monitoring of Blood Glucose and Nurse Care Coordination Among People With Type 2 Diabetes Noninsulin-Treated
Current work: Diabetes clinical nurse specialist and diabetes program coordinator, Sutter Medical Foundation

Katherine Kim

Katherine Kim, M.P.H., M.B.A.

Contact: Katherine.Kim@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: New Scales for Technology Activation in Patients
Current work: Professor-in-residence, San Francisco State University Health Equity Institute

Lori Madden

Lori Madden, N.P., M.S.

Contact: Lori.Madden@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Impact of Temperature Profile on Outcomes After Traumatic Brain Injury
Current work: Acute care nurse practitioner, UC Davis Health System’s Department of Neurological Surgery; associate clinical professor, UC San Francisco School of Nursing Department of Physiological Nursing

Lisa Martinez

Lisa Martinez, R.N.

Contact: Lisa.Martinez@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Association Between Physical Activity and Academic Achievement in a rural, Mexican-heritage community.
Current work: Graduate student researcher for Niños Sanos, Familia Sana, a project focused on Mexican-heritage childhood obesity in California’s Central Valley; Research Nurse for Better Effectiveness After Transition for Heart Failure Patients (BEAT-HF), a randomized control trial examining a tele health intervention and its impact on readmission rates for heart failure patients.

Sheridan Miyamoto

Sheridan Miyamoto, R.N., F.N.P.

Contact: Sheridan.Miyamoto@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Predicting Serious Physical Abuse and Neglect in Young Children Previously Evaluated by Child Protective Services
Current work: Grant project manager, Initiative for Wireless Health and Wellness, UC Davis

Frances Patmon

Frances Patmon, R.N., M.S.N.

Contact: Frances.Patmon@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Acute Pain in Older Adults in Emergency Department Return Visits
Current work: Nurse, Sutter Roseville Emergency Room

Susan Perez

Susan Perez, M.P.H.

Contact: Susan.Perez@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Dissertation topic: Information-Seeking of the Medically Vulnerable
Current work: Graduate student researcher exploring the relationship between nurse-to-population ratio in relation to population health outcomes with Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing Adjunct Professor Jeri L. Bigbee

Class of 2015

Barbara Baranishyn-Hanna

Barbara Baranishyn-Hanna, R.N.

Contact: Barbara.Hanna@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Heart failure readmits and understanding regional variations in home-care utilization and spending
Current work: California certified public health nurse; nationally certified case manager; president and chief executive officer, Home and Health Care Management

Rocio Hernandez

Rocio Hernandez, M.F.T.

Contact: Rocio.Hernandez@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Application of eye movement desensitization and reprocessing  techniques to reduce test taking anxiety in entering high school students
Current work: Health equity policy study

Kristine Himmerick

Kristine Himmerick, M.S., M.P.A.S.

Contact: Kristine.Himmerick@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Primary care workforce
Current work: Physician assistant educator

Kelley Jaeger-Jackson

Kelley Jaeger-Jackson, R.N., M.S.N.

Contact: Kelley.Jaeger-Jackson@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Person-centered care
Current work: Regional service excellence coach, Sutter Sacramento Sierra

Satish Mahajan

Satish Mahajan, R.N., M.E.

Contact: Satish.Mahajan@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Informatics, pain management and education
Current work: Clinical informatics coordinator, Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System

Rebecca Salisbury

Rebecca Lash, R.N., M.S.N., M.P.P.

Contact: Rebecca.Lash@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Emergency department utilization and overcrowding
Current work: Registered nurse, Nethercutt Emergency Center, UCLA Medical Center

Rayne Soriano

Rayne Soriano, R.N., M.S.N.

Contact: Rayne.Soriano@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: The informatics knowledge, skills and abilities of the nurse manager: Bridging the gap between published competencies and practice.
Current work: Manager of Nursing Informatics and Clinical Transformation Program, National Care Delivery Business Information Office and National Patient Care Services, Kaiser Permanente

Class of 2016

Samantha Blackburn

Samantha Blackburn, R.N., M.S.N.

Contact: Samantha.Blackburn@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: School health program coordination and leadership, school-community health partnerships
Current work: Project director, California School Health Centers Association; Independent consultant, School Health Consulting

Amy Doroy

Amy Doroy, R.N., M.S.

Contact: Amy.Doroy@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Interprofessional education and patient safety across the continuum of care
Current work: Nurse manager, Medical Intensive Care Unit, UC Davis Health System; Grant lead, Early Mobility in the Intensive Care Unit

Bronwyn Fields

Bronwyn Fields, R.N., M.P.H.

Contact: Bronwyn.Fields@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Rural-health workforce recruitment, retention and professional support 
Current work: Assistant director of clinical services, United Home Care

Daphene Francis

Daphene Francis, R.N., M.S.

Contact: Daphene.Francis@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Migration health and health outcomes of black Caribbean immigrants
Current work: Full-time student; Previous: Graduate student researcher with Dr. Holli Devon, a nationally recognized expert in cardiovascular care on a study examining the gender differences in symptoms of heart disease; assisted faculty and staff with various curriculum/education projects at the Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing, UC Davis; teaching assistant for two quarters.

Ellen Goldstein

Ellen Goldstein, M.F.T.

Contact: Ellen.Goldstein@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Trauma-informed approach to primary care
Current work: Licensed marriage and family therapist; Trainer and consultant for trauma-informed care

Sally Moyce

Sally Moyce, R.N.

Contact: Sally.Moyce@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Immigrant health and social determinants of health
Current work: Project manager of local epidemiologic study of the prevalence and risk factors of diabetes among Latinos

Holly Thurston

Holly Thurston, M.S.W.

Contact: Holly.Thurston@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Prevention of child maltreatment
Current work: Quality assurance officer, Sacramento County Department of Health and Human Services 

Robin Whitney

Robin Whitney, R.N.

Contact: Robin.Jensen@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Research area of interest: Quality of health care and care coordination
Current work: Clinical supervisor, Short Stay Surgery Department, Fresno Community Regional Medical Center

Classs of 2017

Barbara Abeling

Barbara Abeling, R.N., M.S.

Contact: Barbara.Abeling@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Phillip Bautista

Phillip Bautista, R.N.

Contact: Phillip.Bautista@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Sujuan Cai

Sujuan Cai, R.N., M.S.N.

Contact: Sujuan.Cai@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Jacqueline Clavo-Hall

Jacqueline Clavo-Hall, R.N., M.S.N., M.S.

Contact: Jacqueline.Clavo-Hall@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Ian Koebner

Ian Koebner, M.S., M.S.A.c

Contact: Ian.Koebner@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

May Ying Ly

May Ying Ly, M.S.W.

Contact: MayYing.Ly@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Sarah Reed

Sarah Reed, M.P.H., M.S.W.

Contact: SarahC.Reed@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

 

Christy Solorio

Christy Solorio, R.N., M.S.

Contact: Christy.Solorio@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Jacqueline Stocking

Jacqueline Stocking, R.N., M.S.N., M.B.A.

Contact: Jacqueline.Stocking@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu