Skip to main content
Academic Personnel

Academic Personnel

Compensation Plan Toolkit for Health Sciences Faculty

The purpose of this toolkit:

  • To serve as a resource to departments, chairs, and others in their development of compensation plans.
  • To effectively achieve institutional and departmental strategic goals, as well as the personal and professional goals of the faculty.
  • To summarize approaches and experiences from published literature and work with six partner departments at the University of California Davis School of Medicine.
  • To support career flexibility and work-life integration by appropriately defining compensation criteria and incentives that mitigate unconscious biases.
  • To address emerging needs and related scenario planning as changes in health care delivery, payments, and incentives occur.


The authors wish to thank the following individuals for their participation and contribution to this project:  Project leaders Lydia Pleotis Howell, M.D. and Amparo C. Villablanca, M.D.; department chairs Timothy E. Albertson, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., Raymond S. Dougherty, M.D., Diana L. Farmer, M.D., Robert Hales, M.D., Nathan Kuppermann, M.D.; department chief administrative officers Ann Marie Boylan, Catherine Diaz-Khansefid, Nancy DeHerrera, Fatima Mohamud, Sharon Schmitt, Narriman Shahrokh, Jennifer Wyatt; Associate Dean for Academic Personnel Edward Callahan; and Faculty Assistant Anna Gutiérrez.

This work was supported by an Innovation Award for Medical School Faculty Career Flexibility from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation in partnership with the American Council on Education.  Additional support included  NIH award GM 088336 - in partnership with the Office of Women’s Health Research (OWHR) as well as the Frances Lazda Endowment in Women’s Cardiovascular Medicine to ACV.