On Saturday, June 7, 2008 UC Davis honored three alumni from UC Davis School of Medicine and two medical residents for their contributions to the field of medicine and service to UC Davis and the communities it serves.

"Our Medical Center housestaff and our School of Medicine alumni are shining examples of the values we hold at UC Davis Health System," said Claire Pomeroy, UC Davis vice chancellor for human health sciences and medical school dean. "Their efforts in patient care, medical research, education, community engagement, administrative leadership and other areas are truly commendable.  We are so pleased to celebrate their accomplishments every year through our annual awards, which are given every year during Alumni-Commencement Weekend."

The 2008 award honorees include:

2008 Distinguished Alumni Award

Felix Battistella (photo courtesy of the Sacramento BeeAlthough he passed away on January 22, Felix Battistella is being honored with the UC Davis School of Medicine's 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award. Battistella was just 48 years old when cancer took his life, yet he made huge and lasting contributions in the field of trauma and emergency medicine.

2008 Transformational Leadership Award

Willard DereUC Davis School of Medicine honored Willard Dere with the 2008 Transformational Leadership Award in recognition of his many accomplishments. Dere has played a lead role internationally in drug development and medical education, particularly in the area of osteoporosis, a common disease of the bones.

2008 Humanitarian Award

In recognition of Condessa Curley's efforts to improve community health in underserved populations, UC Davis School of Medicine is honoring her with the 2008 Humanitarian Award. While practicing family medicine and training medical students in southern California, Curley has also developed and implemented successful health projects in Africa.

2008 Clinical Fellow Professionalism Award

In recognition of his outstanding conduct, Rafael A. Rodriguez received the UC Davis School of Medicine 2008 Clinical Fellow Professionalism Award. A Surgical Pathology Fellow, Rodriguez has been described as respectful, courteous, knowledgeable, extremely personal, caring, humble, enthusiastic, practical, and kind-hearted.

2008 Housestaff Professionalism Award

Described by her peers in glowing terms, Gudrun Kungys was awarded e the UC Davis School of Medicine 2008 House Staff Professionalism Award. Kungys, who is chief resident in Anesthesiology, "is a bright, hard-working resident," says Shirley Bishop-Wong, assistant residency program coordinator. "She demonstrates a high ethical standard in her leadership as chief."