Skip to main content
UC Davis Medicine

UC Davis Medicine

Serving the Nation

UC Davis Health System's reputation and influence is advanced through faculty, staff and student memberships in professional organizations. For example:

Lars Berglund, associate dean for research at the UC Davis School of Medicine, serves as chair of the AIDS Clinical Studies and Epidemiology Study Section for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Center for Scientific Review.

Lydia Pleotis Howell, professor and chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, is chair of the Hematology and Pathology Devices Panel of the Food and Drug Administration’s Medical Devices Advisory Committee.

Joy Melnikow, director of the UC Davis Center for Healthcare Policy and Research, is vice chair for public health of the California Health Benefits Review Program Task Force.

Frederick Meyers, executive associate dean of the UC Davis School of Medicine, is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, in London. He participates in international discussions, helps set standards for medical professionals and advances the field of medicine in general.

Ann Madden Rice, chief executive officer of UC Davis Medical Center, was elected a Section for Metropolitan Hospitals delegate of the American Hospital Association’s Regional Policy Board from District 9 and was appointed to the California Health Facilities Financing Authority.

Marjorie Solomon, a nationally known autism researcher with the UC Davis MIND Institute, serves on the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee.

Heather M. Young, associate vice chancellor for nursing and dean of the Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis, serves on the California Regional Action Coalition of the Institute of Medicine’s Initiative on the Future of Nursing.

 UC Davis Health > Spring 2011 
UC Davis Health

Spring 2011

Serving the Nation