Skip to main content

UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center

James E. Goodnight, Jr., M.D., Ph.D. View profile as PDF

James E. Goodnight, Jr.

Clinical Interests

Dr. Goodnight is responsible for designing the structure, rules, responsibilities, funding needs and physician medical practice goals for UC Davis.

A member of the UC Davis faculty since 1980, Dr. Goodnight is recognized as a skilled leader and a compassionate, dedicated clinician. Before attaining his current position, he served as the first director of UC Davis Cancer Center and for 12 years as chair of the Department of Surgery.

As a physician, Dr. Goodnight specializes in treating malignant melanoma, breast cancer, pelvic tumors and bone and soft-tissue cancers. He is nationally recognized for the use and refinement of limb-sparing procedures for treating sarcoma.

Research/Academic Interests

Dr. Goodnight's research interests focus on early cancer detection, advancing minimally invasive surgical procedures, improving cancer patient survival, individualizing patient care and reducing disparities in cancer treatment.


Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, School of Medicine
Associate Dean, Practice Management Board
Professor of Surgery



Surgical Oncology

Center/Program Affiliation:


Education Building
4610 X Street
Sacramento, CA 95817
Driving Directions

Additional Phone:

Phone: 916-703-5569


M.D., Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, 1968
Ph.D., University of Utah School of Medicine, Salt Lake City, Utah, 1976
B.A., University of Texas, Austin, Texas, 1964


Duke University Hospital, Durham, North Carolina, 1968-69


University of Utah Medical Center, Salt Lake City, Utah, 1971-76


University of California, Los Angeles, California, 1976-78

Board Certifications:

American Board of Surgery, 1977

Professional Memberships:

American College of Surgeons
American Medical Association
American Society for Clinical Oncology
American Surgical Association
Association for Academic Surgery
Pacific Coast Surgical Association
Society of Surgical Chairmen
Western Surgical Association