UC Davis Department of Neurology chair to receive ...
NEWS | December 2, 2011

UC Davis Department of Neurology chair to receive national epilepsy award


Michael A. Rogawski, professor and chair of the Department of Neurology in the UC Davis School of Medicine, has been named the recipient of the American Epilepsy Society's 2011 Service Award. The award honors Rogawski for his many contributions to the field of epilepsy and for his long record of service to the epilepsy society and its members. Among his leadership activities, Rogawski has for the past 10 years served as the co-editor of Epilepsy Currents, the society's official journal.

Dr. Rogawski © UC Regents
Dr. Michael Rogawski

Rogawski played a key role in the founding of the journal in 2001, and in the intervening years he has been instrumental in its establishment as a key educational resource for basic and clinical epilepsy researchers and clinicians. Among his other contributions to the work of the American Epilepsy Society (AES) during his more than 20 years of service, Rogawski has served on its board of directors, as chair of its technology committee and as a member of its long-range planning committee.

The AES Service Award will be presented Dec. 3 during ceremonies at the society's 65th Annual Meeting and Scientific Conference at the Baltimore Convention Center.

Rogawski is a leading international authority on the treatment of neurological disorders. During his career, he has investigated the mechanisms of drugs to treat epilepsy and other neurological conditions, and has advanced the development of new treatment approaches. His research encompasses cellular neurophysiological studies, animal models and clinical trials. Laboratory studies conducted in Rogawski's laboratory on AMPA receptors and neurosteroids have been translated to new epilepsy treatment approaches.

Rogawski holds a medical degree and a doctoral degree in pharmacology from Yale University. Following a three-year residency in neurology at Johns Hopkins Hospital, he began research in the field of epilepsy as a medical staff fellow at the National Institutes of Health, where he rose to head of the Epilepsy Research Section, serving in that role from 1990 to 2006. In 2007, he joined the faculty of the UC Davis School of Medicine.

In addition to serving as editor of Epilepsy Currents, Rogawski is associate editor of Neurotherapeutics and is a member of the editorial boards of several other journals. He also has co-edited five books, including Jasper's Basic Mechanisms of the Epilepsies, which will appear early next year.

"The friendships that I've made with AES colleagues have been important for me personally and professionally," Rogawski said. "AES has provided invaluable opportunities to exchange scientific ideas and develop collaborations, which have benefited my research program. I have also made close lifelong friends. AES has been an enormously important community to be a part of all these years."

The 3,000-member American Epilepsy Society, based in West Hartford, Connecticut, seeks to advance and improve the treatment of epilepsy through the promotion of research and education for healthcare professionals. Celebrating its 75th anniversary this year, it is today the nation's leading medical society working to eliminate seizures, their fundamental causes and potential neurological effects.

The UC Davis School of Medicine is among the nation's leading medical schools, recognized for its research and primary-care programs. The school offers fully accredited master's degree programs in public health and in informatics, and its combined M.D.-Ph.D. program is training the next generation of physician-scientists to conduct high-impact research and translate discoveries into better clinical care. Along with being a recognized leader in medical research, the school is committed to serving underserved communities and advancing rural health. For more information, visit UC Davis School of Medicine at medschool.ucdavis.edu.