NEWS | November 25, 2013

Four health system faculty elected as AAAS fellows


Four UC Davis Health System faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). They are among 388 new fellows — including a total of 10 at the University of California, Davis — honored for their scientifically distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The AAAS will publish the names of new members in the November 29 issue of Science and formally recognize them during the association's annual meeting in Chicago on Saturday, Feb. 15.

Frederick Meyers
Frederick Meyers

Frederick J. Meyers, executive associate dean for the UC Davis School of Medicine, executive director of Medical Education and Academic Planning for the University of California, Merced, and professor of internal medicine, was recognized for exemplary leadership in advancing the integration of palliative care into comprehensive cancer care, and for being a national champion of research education and career development. He is a devoted clinician and an innovative researcher who has created numerous programs that continue to serve as national models for compassionate end-of-life care.

Donald Bers
Donald Bers

Donald M. Bers, chair of Department of Pharmacology at the UC Davis School of Medicine, is a renown expert on the intricate physiological factors that regulate cardiac contractions and the identification of treatment targets for correcting abnormal heart rhythms. He was recognized for his innovative approaches in calcium signaling and integrative quantitative analysis that have built the modern framework of regulation of cardiac contractions and electrical activity. His work has dramatically expanded the understanding of heart-muscle dynamics.

Fu-Tong Liu
Fu-Tong Liu

Fu-Tong Liu, distinguished professor and chair emeritus of the Department of Dermatology, distinguished research fellow and director of Institute of Biomedical Sciences at Academia Sinica (Taiwan), was recognized for contributions in multiple scientific disciplines, including allergy, immunology, glycobiology and dermatology, and especially for pioneering the field of the galectin family of mammalian lectins – proteins that regulate cell activities and are implicated in a range of diseases, including cancer, HIV, autoimmune diseases, chronic inflammation and allergic reactions.

Kent Lloyd
Kevin Kent Lloyd

Kevin C. Kent Lloyd, professor of surgery for the UC Davis School of Medicine and director of UC Davis’ Mouse Biology Program, was recognized for scientific advances in the development and application of genetically altered mouse models for biomedical research on disease, developmental disorders and behavioral abnormalities. His work ranges from studies of single-gene products to genome-wide analysis in knockout mice, and his accomplishments reflect innovations in mouse mutagenesis, embryonic stem cell derivation and manipulation, cryopreservation and phenotyping.

Other UC Davis faculty elected as AAAS fellows include:

  • John Capitanio, research professor at the Department of Psychology and the California National Primate Research Center
  • Stephen P. Cramer, Advanced Light Source Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Stephen C. Currall, dean and professor, Graduate School of Management
  • Katayoon Dehesh, professor of plant biology
  • Julin N. Maloof, professor of plant biology 
  • James N. Seiber, professor emeritus in Food, Science and Technology

The American Association for the Advancement of Science, established in 1848, is the world's largest general scientific society with a mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs and science education.

UC Davis Health System is improving lives and transforming health care by providing excellent patient care, conducting groundbreaking research, fostering innovative, interprofessional education, and creating dynamic, productive partnerships with the community. The academic health system includes one of the country's best medical schools, a 619-bed acute-care teaching hospital, a 1,000-member physician's practice group and the Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing. For more information, visit