NEWS | May 25, 2010

Awards banquet recognizes outstanding medical students and instructors


Celebrating the end of medical school included a festive event recently as the Class of 2010, family members, friends and faculty gathered for UC Davis School of Medicine’s annual awards banquet to honor graduating seniors and their instructors.

The event featured remarks by Claire Pomeroy, vice chancellor for human health sciences and dean of the School of Medicine, and Fred Meyers, executive associate dean.

“You are entering into the most wonderful profession in the world,” said Pomeroy in her introductory remarks to the students. “I speak for our entire faculty when I say how proud we are of your accomplishments and contributions.”

The dean kicked off the evening’s honors by handing out the first award to Laura Nally, selected by a special School of Medicine committee to receive this year’s Gabriel Smilkstein Humanitarian Award.

Others honored during ceremonies last night included:

  • Blair Colwell, J.T. Simon Lie Memorial Scholarship
  • Margaret Huang, Alexandra E. Green, M.D., Memorial Scholarship
  • Darren Salmi, Charles M. Blumenfeld, M.D., Endowed Scholarship
  • Tatiana Catanzarite, Merck Manual Award
  • Zhanetta Harrison, Merck Manual Award
  • Mark Fedor, Housestaff Professionalism Award
  • Jennifer Li, Clinical Fellow Professionalism Award

Outstanding Teaching Awards

  • Cameron McClure, Emergency Medicine
  • Justin Oldham, Internal Medicine
  • Gaea Moore, Obstetrics and Gynecology 
  • Mark Ratanasan, Pediatrics
  • Erik Youngdale, Psychiatry
  • Jason Young, Surgery

Kaiser Excellence in Teaching Awards

  • Thomas Blankenship, Cell Biology and Human Anatomy
  • Peter Lynch, Dermatology
  • Gary Rinzler, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

American Medical Women’s Association’s Janet M. Glasgow-Rubin Citation for Academic Achievement

  • Elizabeth Brannan
  • Tatiana Catanzarite
  • Blair Colwell
  • Sarah Fitzmaurice
  • Zhanetta Harrison
  • Elizabeth Stewart

Alpha Omega Alpha

  • Elizabeth Brannan
  • Ran Luo
  • Sonia Sonik-Spielvogel
  • Tatiana Catanzarite
  • Ryan Metcalf
  • Elizabeth Stewart
  • Cynthia Chambers
  • Karen Mu
  • David Trent
  • Blair Colwell
  • Balvinder Rehal
  • Tammy Wan
  • Charity Hope
  • Conor Schaye
  • Charles Yu

Doctoring Awards

  • Anthony Bhe
  • Elizabeth Brannan
  • Blair Colwell
  • Alison Nielsen

Outstanding Student in Anesthesiology: Alison Nielsen.

Department of Cell Biology and Human Anatomy Barry F. King Award: Elizabeth Brannan.

Award for Excellence in Emergency Medicine: Margaret Huang

The Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award: Charles Kurlinkus

Family and Community Medicine Awards in Excellence: Ryan Spielvogel

CAFP Sierra Chapter and the Department of Family and Community Medicine Outstanding Senior Award: Ryan Spielvogel

Family and Community Medicine Resident Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching:  Jeremy Law

Ernest M. Gold Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine: Gregory Naughton

Award for Excellence in Microbiology and Immunology: Elizabeth Brannan

Outstanding Student in Obstetrics and Gynecology: Teresa Barcellos

Outstanding Medical Student in Ophthalmology: Charles Kim, Charles Yu

Award for Excellence in Otolaryngology: Jack Russo

Robert E. Stowell, M.D., Ph.D., Award for Excellence in Pathology: Ryan Metcalf

Crystie Halsted Award for Excellence in Pediatrics: Elizabeth Brannan, Blair Colwell

Outstanding Medical Student in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation: Nicki Freeland Lacerda, Vanessa McGowan

Award for Excellence in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences: Elizabeth Brannan, Artha Gillis

Award for Excellence in Public Health Sciences: Teresa Barcellos, Ryan Spielvogel

Outstanding Medical Student in Pulmonary and Critical Care: Elizabeth Stewart

Russell A. McFall Excellence in Radiology Award: Braden Boice

Outstanding Student in Surgery: Shabnam Hafiz

Excellence in Urology Award: Jacqueline Craig-Guitierrez

Outstanding Instructor Awards

  • Tom Blankenship, basic sciences
  • Jeffrey Gauvin, clinical sciences (full-time faculty)
  • Robert Quadro, clinical sciences (volunteer faculty)