NEWS | November 29, 2012

Five health system faculty elected as AAAS fellows


Five UC Davis Health System faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). They are among 702 new fellows -- including a total of 17 at the University of California, Davis -- honored for their scientifically distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The AAAS will formally recognize new fellows on Feb. 16 during the association's annual meeting in Boston.

Jan Nolta Jan A. Nolta, professor of internal medicine and director of the UC Davis Stem Cell Program, was honored for her groundbreaking research into human stem cells, especially how they might be used to overcome Huntington's disease, for her leadership in directing the UC Davis Institute for Regenerative Cures and for raising public awareness about the benefits of regenerative medicine.

Lars BerglundLars Berglund, senior associate dean for research and director of the UC Davis Clinical and Translational Science Center (CTSC), was recognized for exemplary development and administration of the CTSC and for overseeing all aspects of the School of Medicine's collaborative research program, which is transforming modern scientific exploration and improving health for all. He is a national leader in research on lipoprotein metabolism, vascular disease and the human immunodeficiency virus.

Kyriacos AthanasiouKyriacos Athanasiou, professor and chair of biomedical engineering and professor of orthopaedic surgery, was honored for his distinguished contributions to biomedical engineering and bioengineering, particularly for biomechanics-driven tissue regeneration, for leadership in engineering-in-medicine, and for commercial technologies based on his research. His laboratory focuses on the challenge of regenerating cartilage tissue.

David FyhrieDavid Fyhrie, professor of biomedical engineering and David Linn Endowed Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery, was honored for his distinguished contributions to computational and experimental biomedical engineering, particularly for novel contributions to the prediction and prevention of osteoporotic fracture, and for exploring new ways to treat musculoskeletal disorders.

M. Eric GershwinM. Eric Gershwin, professor and chief of rheumatology, allergy and clinical immunology, was honored for his lifetime contributions to and discoveries in immunobiology, particularly the cause and progression of primary biliary cirrhosis, and for his internationally recognized expertise in medical research and environmental health. He leads a team of researchers and clinicians who offer the latest treatments for immune diseases of the liver, bowel, skeletal system and lungs.

Other UC Davis faculty elected as AAAS fellows include:

  • Nicole Woolsey Biggart, professor of management, Graduate School of Management
  • Richard M. Bostock, professor of plant pathology
  • David Britt, professor of chemistry
  • Luca Comai, professor of plant biology
  • Mary Erin Delany, professor of developmental genetics and interim dean of UC Davis' College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague, professor and chair of chemistry
  • Louise H. Kellogg, professor of geology
  • Steven J. Luck, professor of psychology and director of the UC Davis Center for Mind and Brain
  • Prasant Mohapatra, professor and chair of computer science
  • Isabel Patricia Montanez, professor of geology
  • Ray Rodriguez, professor of molecular and cellular biology
  • Howard J. Spero, professor and chair of geology

The American Association for the Advancement of Science, established in 1848, is the world's largest general scientific society with a mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs and science education.

UC Davis Health System is improving lives and transforming health care by providing excellent patient care, conducting groundbreaking research, fostering innovative, interprofessional education, and creating dynamic, productive partnerships with the community. The academic health system includes one of the country's best medical schools, a 619-bed acute-care teaching hospital, a 1000-member physician's practice group and the new Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing. It is home to a National Cancer Institute-designated comprehensive cancer center, an international neurodevelopmental institute, a stem cell institute and a comprehensive children's hospital. Other nationally prominent centers focus on advancing telemedicine, improving vascular care, eliminating health disparities and translating research findings into new treatments for patients. Together, they make UC Davis a hub of innovation that is transforming health for all. For more information, visit