Skip to main content
The Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing

The Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing

National Advisory Council

2014 National Advisory Council

The Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing National Advisory Council gathered for its 2014-15 meeting in April 2015.

The National Advisory Council advises on strategy and provides input on long-range plans in several areas, including strategies to achieve the vision, continuous improvement and evaluation of impact, and sustainability. Council members also serve as advocates for the Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis.

Claire M. Fagin, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Professor, Dean Emerita, School of Nursing and Interim President Emerita, University of Pennsylvania (founding chair)

G. Russell (Russ) Bell, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer (retired), Beckman Coulter (chair)

 Linda Burnes Bolton, Dr.P.H., M.S.N., F.A.A.N.
Vice President, Nursing and Chief Nursing Officer, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Douglas F. Busch 
Chief Operating Officer (retired), Care Innovations

Natalie Bush, R.N., M.S.N. 
Nurse and Philanthopist

Joanne M. Disch, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Professor Ad Honorem, University of Minnesota School of Nursing

Viva Ettin, M.D., J.D.
Law Offices of Viva Ettin MD

Jennie Chin Hansen, R.N., F.A.A.N.
Senior Strategic Advisor, American Geriatrics Society

Martha N. Hill, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Professor, Dean Emerita, The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Medicine and Public Health

Andrew P. Mezey, M.D., M.S.
Clinical Professor Emeritus, Department of Pediatrics, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva University

Susan Reinhard, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Senior Vice President for Public Policy, AARP and Chief Strategist for Center to Champion Nursing in America

Marybeth Sharpe, Ph.D.
Program Director, Betty Irene Moore Nursing Initiative and Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, (foundation representative)

Robert J. Szczerba, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer, X Tech Ventures

Helen Thomson, R.N.
Retired Supervisor, Yolo County Board of Supervisors; Former Assemblywoman, California State Assembly

Richard B. Weininger, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer for Oncology, CareCore National/Med Solutions

Page West, R.N., C.C.R.N., M.H.A.
Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Dignity Health


Lloyd Dean
President and CEO, Dignity Health

Suzanne Feetham, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Professor Emeritus, College of Nursing, University of Illinois, Chicago; Senior Scientist, Self-Management Science Center at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Visiting Professor, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee College of Nursing

J. Taylor Harden, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Executive Director, Coordinating Center, National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence, Gerontological Society of America

Meredith Khachigian
Member, National Advisory Board, UC Davis Health System; Former Member, University of California Board of Regents; Former Chair, University of California Board of Regents

Louise L. Liang, M.D.
Senior Advisor, Kaiser Permanente International, former Senior Vice President, Quality and Clinical Systems Support, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals; Former Chair, Board of Directors, Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Wayne McCormick, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P.
Professor, University of Washington Department of Medicine; Chief, Long-Term Care Service, University of Washington School of Medicine, Division of Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine

Bernita McTernan
Executive Vice President, Sponsorship, Mission Integrity and Philanthropy, Dignity Health

Nilda (Nena) Peragallo, Dr.PH., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Dean and Professor, University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies

Corinne H. Rieder, Ed.D.
Executive Director and Treasurer, The John A. Hartford Foundation

Peter C. Scheidt, M.D., M.P.H. 
Professor of Pediatrics, Children’s National Medical Center

Cheryl M. Scott
Senior Advisor, Global Health Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

S. Leonard Syme, Ph.D. 
Professor Emeritus of Epidemiology and Community Health, UC Berkeley School of Public Health