Skip to main content
Department of Neurology

Department of Neurology

ALS Clinic Staff


Bjorn Oskarsson M.D.Björn Oskarsson, M.D., ALS Clinic Director.  Board certified in: Neurology, Neuromuscular Medicine, and Electrodiagnostic Medicine.  Dr. Oskarsson is an ALS neurologist who has conducted neuromuscular research for the last 15 years, with a focus on ALS clinical care and research for the last 7 years.

  Nannette Joyce DO

Nanette Joyce, D.O., ALS Co-Director.  Board Certified in: PM&R and Neuromuscular Medicine.  Dr. Joyce is one of the nation’s few ALS physiatrists. Her extensive involvement in the UC Davis ALS clinic distinguishes it from other California ALS clinics.  Her research interests include developing stem cell therapeutics for patients with neuromuscular disease.



UC Davis ALS Clinic

UC Davis Medical Center
Lawrence J. Ellison Ambulatory Care Center
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation 4860 Y Street, Suite 1700
Sacramento, CA 95817
(916) 734-6304, Fax (916) 734-7838


  • UC Davis Neurology Clinic            (916) 734-3588
  • Participate in ALS Research         (916) 734-6265
  • UC Davis New Referral Center    800-2-UCDAVIS (282-3284)
  • Give to UC Davis   Your support makes a difference call             (916) 734-9400


Michelle Cregan, CRA
(916) 734-6304

Ultrasound in ALS

Mexiletine for the Treatment of Muscle Cramps in ALS

Developing new outcome measures in ALS

Research Registry


ALS Clinic Director                                           Björn Oskarsson, MD    

Co-Director, Assistant Professor                  Nanette Joyce, DO         

Professor Emeritus, pulmonary                    William Bonekat, DO      

ALS Nurse                                                         Mandy Walker, RN

ALS Clinic Coordinator                                    Michelle Cregan

ALS Social Worker                                           Holly Bleasdale, LSW

ALS Psychologist                                             Debra Fishman, PsyD

ALS Physical Therapist                                  Linda Johnson, PT

ALS Occupational Therapist                         Terri Hayward, OT

Senior Medical Speech Pathologist             Matt Osecheck, MA, CCC-SLP

ALS Dietitian                                                     Marlia M. Braun, PhD, RD, CSSD

ALS Research coordinators                          Roxana Hupcey, Steffany Lim,

                                                                            Erica Goude & Alina Nicorici