Tips for Unlicensed Residents after Receiving a DUI
The following are tips for how to navigate the Medical Board’s requirements after receiving a DUI. These tips are based on information from previous trainees who have received DUIs.
- Contact the Medical Board within 30 days of the incident.
- Must be a written report to the Medical Board’s Enforcement Division.
- Failure to report a DUI is more serious than the DUI itself.
- Send all requested documents directly (certified) from the DMV, courthouse, and police department to the Medical Board as soon as possible with signature and date.
- Submit a signed and dated copy of your CV to the Medical Board as soon as possible.
- Obtain a Professionals Comprehensive Assessment from a Board approved facility. According to past residents, the following have been listed as approved facilities:
- Betty Ford Center (800) 434-7365
- Hazelden (800) 257-7810
- Pine Grove (888) 574-4673
- Talbott (800) 445-4232
- Begin treatment, if needed, and/or monitoring.
- Including periodic toxicology testing to establish abstinence
- Request a point of contact at the Medical Board
- Contact the California Medical Association Confidential Hotline for Substance Abuse, if needed, at: (213) 383-2691
- Use your home address for all Medical Board correspondence to help expedite the process
- Obtain legal counsel
- The Medical Staff Wellbeing Committee has a list of lawyers
- Consult with the Medical Staff Wellbeing Committee
- The Committee is available to support you and advocate for you throughout the process
Estimated court & DMV costs: Estimated California Medical Board costs:
|Lawyer||$4,000||CMB mandated evaluation||$5,000|
|Court mandated classes||$700||CMB mandated monitoring||$400/ mo x 60 mos = $24,000|
|Court Fines||$3,600||CMB mandated treatment||$400/ mo x 60 mos = $24,000|
|Time off work||______||CMB Case Management||$4000/ yr x 5 yrs = $20,000|
|(Past residents have been able to negotiate some costs)|