Skip to main content
UC Davis School of Medicine

UC Davis School of Medicine

School of Medicine Faculty Senate

Faculty Executive Committee

4.2212     Duties and Responsibilities
The Faculty Executive Committee shall consider all matters of general concern to the Faculty. Bring before the Faculty any recommendations generated by it, by the other Standing Committees and by Special Committees of the Faculty. Make recommendations to the Faculty concerning the disposition of existing or new departments and organized divisions into groups defined in Article 4.0. Circulate to the Faculty all important motions at least two days in advance of the regular meeting of the Faculty. Act for the Faculty within the bylaws and Regulations of the Faculty of the School of Medicine. All actions taken on behalf of the Faculty shall be reported to the Faculty at the next meeting. Appoint ad hoc committees as necessary.

Name Department Position Group

Term: 7/1-6/30

 Stuart Cohen
Stuart Cohen, M.D.
Internal Medicine Chair Medical
2nd Term
 Paul FitzGerald

Paul FitzGerald, Ph.D.

 Cell Biology and Human Anatomy  Vice Chair  

Preclinical Sciences

2nd Term
 Richard Tucker
Richard P. Tucker, Ph.D.
Cell Biology and Human Anatomy Secretary At-Large Representative 1st Term 2015 - 2017

 Gregory Farwell
D. Gregory Farwell, M.D.
Otolaryngology  Member Surgical Clinical Sciences Representative  1st Term 2015-2017

 Eric Kurzrock

Eric Kurzrock, M.D., F.A.A.P.


Member Surgical Clinical Sciences Representative 1st Term

John MacMillan Jr., M.D.
Internal Medicine  Member  Non-Senate Representative  2nd Term
2014 -2016

 Maria Mudryj
Maria Mudryj, Ph.D.
Medical Microbiology and Immunology  Member  At-Large Representative  1st Term
2015 -2017
 Dan Ragland

Dan Ragland, Ph.D.


Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Member Medical
2nd Term

 David Siegel

David Siegel, M.D., M.P.H.


Internal Medicine



VA Northern California Health Care System (VANCHCS) 1st Term


Yang K. Xiang, Ph.D.

 Pharmacology Member Preclinical Representative 1st Term
 Freischlag Dean’s Office Ex officio Vice Chancellor/Dean
UC Davis School of Medicine


John P. Livoni, M.D., M.P.H.

Radiology Ex officio Chief of Staff  N/A


 Martha O'Donnell
Martha O’Donnell, Ph.D.

Physiology and Membrane Biology Ex officio  

 Past Chair


Standing Committees

Standing Committees (PDF)
2016-17 academic year listing of all the standing committee members.

Standing Committees Descriptions (PDF)
Descriptions of each standing committee.


School of Medicine Bylaws (PDF)

The Faculty of the School of Medicine shall form and conduct the governance of the School of Medicine, subject to the Bylaws and Regulations of the Academic Senate of the University of California.


Faculty-to-Faculty Newsletter 
The purpose of this newsletter is to provide the faculty of the UC Davis School of Medicine information concerning shared governance and the actions and future projects of your Academic Senate Standing Committees and the Faculty Executive  Committee.  The newsletter will be published twice each year just prior to the spring and fall Meetings of the General Faculty.
April 2008October 2008May 2009October 2009May 2010October 2010May 2011

Faculty Meetings

General Faculty Meetings 

  • Meetings: Every 4th Wednesday of January, May and October
  • Location: Education Bldg and video conference at the Genome Bldg., Room 6202
  • Time: 4:30 pm – 6:00 pm
  • Faculty Executive Committee Meeting Schedule (pdf)

Faculty Executive Committee Meetings

  • Meetings: Every 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month
  • Location: Education Bldg
  • Time: 4:30 pm – 6:00 pm

Faculty Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
The minutes can be accessed through SmartSite: SOM General Faculty using your Kerberos ID and password at this page: 

For questions regarding Kerberos, please visit the Kerberos FAQ page at: 

If you are a UC Davis School of Medicine faculty member and still could not access the SmartSite: SOM General Faculty, please email your Kerberos ID to Bernadette Abucayan at so that your name can be added to the list of participants.

Contact Information

Bernadette Abucayan
916.734.9020 phone
916.734.7055 fax

Faculty Senate Office
School of Medicine
University of California, Davis
4610 X Street
Education Bldg., Suite 3101L
Sacramento, CA 95817