Skip to main content
Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Ramie H. Begum, Ph.D.

Dr. Ramie Begum

Visiting Professor
Davis Campus
(530) 754-8534

Research Funding



Graduate Group Affiliations

Research Interests

Our Laboratory focuses on the studies of molecular epidemiology of endemic infectious diseases like malaria, non typhoidal salmonellosis, Typhoid fever and urinary tract infections in developing countries. We are also trying to assess the interrelationship among host genetic diversity and predisposal towards severe malaria. The focus groups under our studies are the ethnically minor and economically backwards communities of India.

Recently we have taken up studies to assess the underlying molecular mechanism of alcoholic liver diseases among the home prepared alcohol consuming communities. To achieve the goals of our studies we identify receptors and markers in the pathway of mechanism of pathogenesis/ metabolism as the case may be that may influence the outcome or severity of a disease and then characterize them. We are also investigating the role of aflatoxin in ALD. 


Representative Publications


M. Agbaje, R. H. Begum, M. A. Oyekunle, O. E. Ojo and O. T. Adenubi. 2011. Evolution of Salmonella nomenclature: a critical note. Folia Microbiologica. 56(6):497-50

Ramie H Begum, H Rahman and G. Ahmed. 2011. Development and evaluation of gamma irradiated toxoid vaccine of Salmonella enterica var Typhimurium. Vety. Microbiol.  21;153(1-2):191-7

M Chakraborty, R Dey and R H Begum. 2009. Prevalence of different genetic traits among four different ethnic communities viz., Assamese, Nepali, Kuki and Dimasa in the district of Karbi Anglong, Assam. J. Appl. Biosci. Biotech.,Vol 5 (1):  54-5

H. Rahman, R. H. Begum, H. V. Murugkar, H. Rahman, A. Kumar, B. R. Shome and R.  Shome. 2008. Occurrence and distribution of virulence factors among clinical isolates of non-O157 E. coli. J. Vet Pub. Hlth, .6: 09-1


Recent/Current Teaching



Teaching and Research Awards