Skip to main content
Faculty Development

Faculty Development

Dean's Award for Excellence

The Dean’s Award for Excellence recognizes outstanding faculty contributions in the core mission areas of Research, Education, Clinical Care and Community Engagement.

The purpose of the award is not only to reward the outstanding performance of a faculty member but also to acknowledge their contribution as a transformative leader in our collegial community. The nominee’s dedication to one of the mission areas is a focused and compelling example that exemplifies and aligns our community with our mission of discovering and sharing knowledge to advance health. The nominee’s efforts must clearly contribute to UC Davis Health System being a destination of choice to all those we serve.

We invite Chairs, Vice Chairs, Division Chiefs and Section Heads to submit nominations of faculty who demonstrate these transformative leadership qualities. Up to one faculty member will be selected in each of the mission areas. All faculty are eligible to be nominated. The mission categories are:

  • Education – provides outstanding learning opportunities for students
  • Research – leader in innovative research, making high-impact discoveries
  • Clinical Care – provides high-quality patient-oriented services
  • Community – enhances the qualify of life of our local and regional
    (Community organizations are also welcome to submit nominations for faculty who have demonstrated transformative leadership qualities in the community.)

Awardees will receive a cash award and be honored at a recognition reception held in Spring 2016.

Deadline for nominations is December 11, 2015.

Announcement and instructions
Announcement (PDF)
Nomination Instructions (PDF)

Nomination forms
Clinical Care Nomination Form (Word Template)
Community Engagement Nomination Form (Word Template)
Education Nomination Form (Word Template)
Research Nomination Form (Word Template)

Please contact Cheryl Busman at (916) 703-9230 or with any questions.

Previous Dean's Award for Excellence Awardees