Skip to main content
Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women's Health

Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women's Health


Principal Investigator:

Tom Nesbitt, M.D., M.P.H.
Interim Vice Chancellor for Human Health Sciences and Interim Dean of the School of Medicine

Program Directors:

Ellen Gold, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Public Health Sciences

Nancy Lane, M.D.
Director of the Center for Aging; and Endowed Professor of Internal Medicine and Rheumatology

External Advisory Board:

Susan Johnson, M.D. (chair)
University Ombudsperson, Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, University of Iowa

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, Ph.D., M.D.
Associate Professor in Residence of Medicine, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, University of California, San Francisco

Bess Dawson-Hughes, M.D.
Director, Metabolic Bone Disease Clinic, and Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine

Gail Greendale, M.D.
Director of Research, Iris Cantor - UCLA Women's Health Center and Center of Excellence in Women’s Health; and Professor of Medicine and Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of California, Los Angeles

Internal Advisory Board:

Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine and Director of the CTSC Community Engagement program and Center for Reduction in Health Disparities

Cameron Carter, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Director of the Imaging Research Center, and Interim Director of the Center for Neuroscience

Kimberly Elsbach, Ph.D.
Professor of Management and Chancellor’s Fellow in the Graduate School of Management

Richard Kravitz, M.D., M.S.P.H.
Professor and co-Vice Chair for Research for the Department of Internal Medicine

Lloyd Smith, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Judith Stern, D.S.C.
Distinguished Professor of Nutrition and Internal Medicine; Co-Director of the Collaborative Obesity Research Evaluation Team

Alice Tarantal, Ph.D.
Unit Leader, Reproductive Sciences, California National Primate Research Center (CNPRC); Director, Center for Fetal Monkey Gene Transfer for Heart, Lung, and Blood Diseases; Professor of Pediatrics and CNPRC; Professor of Cell Biology and Human Anatomy

Judith Turgeon, Ph.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine

L. Elaine Waetjen, M.D.
Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Heather M. Young, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of the UC Davis Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing