Currently accepting 2018-2019 Applications for Surgical Pathology Fellowship

For more information regarding this position and our other fellowship openings for 2019-2020, please visit our Fellowship Programs page.


August 7, 2017
Associate Professor, Dr. Izumi Maezawa, received a new $1.6M R01 award from the National Institutes of Health for her project “Mitochondrial ROS and Microglia in Rett Syndrome”.  She and her team will pursue a mitochondria-targeting anti-oxidation strategy to treat Rett Syndrome, a childhood autism spectrum disorder currently with no cure.

Post-doctoral fellow, Fabian Lara, PhD, received the award for best abstract in Critical Care Point of Care Testing at the 69th meeting of the American Association of Clinical Chemistry in San Diego, July 30-August 3.  Dr. Lara is a mentee of clinical chemistry director Dr. Nam Tran.

August 1, 2017

Professor Dr. Alexander Borowsky is the UC Davis site PI on the UC-wide study, Women Informed to Screen Depending on Measures of Risk (WISDOM) which is funded by $14.1 million grant from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute that seeks to determine whether mammograms or a more personalized approach driven by the data attached to each woman’s genetic makeup, family history and risk factors are more effective to screen for breast cancer.

On July 25, residency program director Dr. Hooman Rashidi and pathology course director Dr. Kristin Olson shared posters on the integration of technological tools in housestaff education, and on weekly clinicopathological conferences as a means of teaching clinical fellows at the Association of Pathology Chairs' 50th annual meeting in Washington DC.

Pathology course director Dr. Kristin Olson led a session on “Melding of Basic Biomedical Science and Clinical Medicine in the Fourth Year of Medical School” on June 26 at the Association of Pathology Chairs' 50th annual meeting in Washington DC.

Chair Dr. Lydia Howell co-directed the Pathology Leadership Academy and Chair’s Bootcamp at the Association of Pathology Chairs 50th annual meeting in Washington DC.

The department welcomed five new faculty members for the new academic year:  Dr. John Paul Graff (Informatics, Hemepath), Dr. Kristin Grimsrud (Mouse Biology Program), Dr. Nam Ku (Hemepath), Dr. Grace Monis (transfusion, apheresis, coagulation), Dr. David Unold (transfusion, apheresis, coagulation).

June 20, 2017
Associate Professor Dr. Eric Huang is one of three finalists chosen to compete in the Young Investigator “Shark Tank” at the American Society of Cytopathology’s annual meeting in November. His project includes a unique collaboration with associate professor James Chan, the PI for our NSF-funded Center for Biophotonics Sensors and Systems.

Former faculty member, Dr. Josh Miller, now the Chair of the Dept. of Nutritional Sciences at Rutgers University, is returning to UCD Health on June 29 to give a free public lecture on the role of vitamins in preventing Alzheimer’s disease at 6 p.m. at the UC Davis MIND Institute as part of the 2017 Community Engagement Learning Series.

Chief Administrative Officer Catherine Diaz- Khansefid is President of the Northern California Chapter of the Society of Research Administrators and hosted the chapter’s very first annual meeting on the UC Davis campus on 6/15-16. The meeting included 140+ participants and 17 speakers from across the University of California.

June 12, 2017

Faculty member, Dr. Mirna Lechpammer, accepted the prestigious Moore Award on behalf of the research team for the best clinicopathologic paper for the application of the innovative MUSE microscope to neuropathology at the annual meeting of the American Association of Neuropathology’s annual meeting, June 8-11, 2017.

Chief Resident, Dr. Nick Coley, received the Richard Davis Travel Award to attend the American Association of Neuropathology’s annual meeting, June 8-11, 2017 where he gave a platform presentation on his work using MUSE in neuropathology.

Vice Chair of Research, Dr. Yvonne Wan, and her team demonstrated that gender differences in mice microbiota can modulate the risk of developing metabolic disease and liver cancer. Their work was recently published in the journal, Science Reports.

May 15, 2017

Associate Professor Dr. Verónica Martínez-Cerdeño and other faculty scholars from UC Davis’ Center for Advancing Multi-cultural Perspectives on Science (CAMPOS) met with California State Senator Bill Dodd during the second week of May to advocate for more funding to support UC Davis graduate students.

Distinguished Professor Dr. Ralph Green’s recently published article, “Vitamin B12 deficiency from the perspective of a practicing hematologist” was featured in “This Week in ‘Blood’”, a snapshot of the hottest studies from each week’s issue, hand-picked by the editors.

Associate Professor Dr. Nam Tran is the UC Davis site principle investigator for a new $303,000 subcontract from the United States Air Force to the University of Cincinnati for their collaborative project “Expeditionary Medicine, Trauma, and En Route Care Research and Technology Development.”

Dr. Eric Huang and Dr. Regina Gandour-Edwards shared their poster “Patient-Derived Organoid Research Using Resource at UC Davis Cancer Center Biorepository” at the at the annual meeting for the International Society of Biological and Environmental Repositories (ISBER) , May 9-12 in Toronto, Canada.

May 8, 2017
Professor Dr. Lee-Way Jin and Associate Professor Dr. Izumi Maezawa have received three new grants to support research on Alzheimer’s disease: 1) A NIH SBIR phase II two-year award entitled “Development of patented tricyclic pyrones molecules for the treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease” will provide $590,734 for rat model experiments; 2) A two-year $2 million award from the Alzheimer’s Association “Part the Cloud Challenge” to fund a Phase IIb clinical trial of Senicapoc; 3) An Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation Award for $350,000 to fund the manufacture of Senicapoc for the above clinical trial at UC Davis’ Good Manufacturing Practices Laboratory.

Vice Chair of Research Dr. Yvonne Wan's undergraduate mentee, Nidhi Nagar, was awarded first place in the 31st Annual CSU Student Research Competition for her work "Role of bacteria and bacterial metabolites in development of nonalcoholic steatohepatitis."

Resident Dr. Amir Ghorbani has been selected by the US and Canadian Academy of Pathology to serve a two-year term as UC Davis Medical Center’s Ambassador to influence engagement with pathologists-in-training and young practitioners with the academy.

Resident Dr. Andy Jones received $500 award as the first runner up for UC Davis Health’s Noel Foundation Award which honors a housestaff member for an outstanding research presentation at a national meeting.

Kelly Lima, Associate Professor Dr. Nam Tran’s PhD student mentee, received the Albert T. McManus Award for her plenary talk on the use of next generation sequencing to characterize the burn unit microbiome at the 49th annual American Burn Association meeting in Boston, March 21-24.

In March, the 49th annual American Burn Association meeting in Boston featured three additional presentations from Dr. Nam Tran’s Point of Care Testing team.  Research assistant Rachel Caynak presented a study verifying the American Burn Association Sepsis Consensus Guidelines, Dr. Tran shared outcomes from his multicenter clinical trial funded by the Department of Defense on the impact of rapid molecular pathogen detection in severely burned patients, and post-doctoral fellow Fabian Lara presented a poster on point-of-care spectrophotometric vs. conductance-based hemoglobinometry in the perioperative burn setting

More News »